Friday, August 5, 2022

How to share your screen using FaceTime

If you want to share what you’re seeing on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac screen with a friend from afar, it’s now as easy as making a FaceTime call with the built-in Share Screen feature. Here’s how to use it.

what you need to know

To share your screen with FaceTime, you and the person you’re sharing with need iOS 15.1 or later (on iPhone), iPadOS 15.1 (on iPad), or macOS 12.1 or later (on Mac). You also need an Apple ID to use FaceTime.

Note that you cannot share content from apps that require a subscription or purchase to view. (Apple recommends using SharePlay instead.)

Sharing your screen in FaceTime is useful when you need help troubleshooting or want to show information to others remotely. Notifications will be hidden when the screen is shared. However, if you have sensitive information on your screen, be careful with screen sharing, as the party on the other end may see it.

How to Share Screen on FaceTime on iPhone and iPad

To share your screen on your iPhone or iPad, first run the FaceTime app and make a call to someone else who also has FaceTime set up. Once connected, tap the “Screen Share” button in the toolbar, which looks like a rectangle with a person in front of it. In the pop-up that appears, tap Share My Screen.

When screen sharing begins, FaceTime shrinks to a small window on the screen, and you can use your iPhone or iPad to launch the application as usual. The person on the other end of the call will see what you’re doing on the screen (but they won’t see the insert video window).

Example of screen sharing using FaceTime on iPhone.

To stop screen sharing, bring up the FaceTime toolbar again by clicking the video thumbnail and select the screen sharing button again.

Tap the screen sharing button in FaceTime to stop sharing your screen.

When you’re done with the FaceTime call, click End.

How to Share Screen on FaceTime on Mac

To share your screen on your Mac, open the FaceTime app and make a call. Once connected, click the FaceTime icon in the menu bar at the top of the screen and select the screen sharing button, which looks like a rectangle with a person in front of it.

The menu will expand and you can choose to share a specific window or the entire screen. Click on the option you want to use.

Click the Screen Share button on your Mac.

If you choose Window, FaceTime prompts you to click the window you want to share. If you choose Screen, the person on the other end of the call will see your entire Mac desktop.

To stop sharing your screen, click the FaceTime icon in the menu bar again (it now looks like a screen sharing icon) and select “Stop Sharing Screen”.

Click Stop Sharing Screen on Mac FaceTime.

You can resume screen sharing at any time. After the call ends, open the FaceTime menu again and click the red “X” button to disconnect. Happy sharing!

related: How to FaceTime on iPhone, iPad or Mac

technology.

Related Articles

Latest Articles