The political scientist explained Tatarstan’s desire to keep two presidential posts in Russia

WorldThe political scientist explained Tatarstan's desire to keep two...

Political scientist Oleksandr Asafiv explained the decision of the deputies of the State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan not to support the draft federal law, which obliges the heads of all entities to be called heads of regions, and the desire to keep two presidential posts in Russia. He told about it in interview to Izvestia.

According to the expert, the Tatarstan authorities “due to a certain political inertia block all the changes that this law brings with it, but they focus only on such a rather decorative function as the title of the position.”

However, he added that some Russian regions have their own specifics in the field of public administration and its structure. In addition, their regional differences are quite serious. However, as a result of the adoption of amendments to the Constitution of Russia in the system of state power will be a number of changes, they are inevitable, said the political scientist.

Earlier, the head of the profile committee of the State Council of Tatarstan Albert Khabibullin said that the authorities opposed the bill “On general principles of public authority in the Russian Federation”, which requires all governors to be called heads of regions. He suggested that the deputies not debate the bill and return to its discussion in case it is considered in the first reading in the State Duma.

READ MORE  Winner of national selection for Junior Eurovision 2021 announced - news on Today Nation News

At the end of September, a bill was introduced in the State Duma, according to which all governors must be called heads of regions. One of the co-authors of the initiative, the head of the committee of the lower house of parliament on state building and legislation Pavel Krasheninnikov said that the heads of cities of federal importance – Moscow, St. Petersburg and Sevastopol – will retain the names of their positions.

Commenting on the initiative, Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov said Russia should have only one president.

After the collapse of the USSR, the presidents became the heads of many republics within the Russian Federation. The process of renouncing this title of senior regional positions in 2010 was launched by the head of Chechnya Ramzan Kadyrov, who did not want to be called president and urged colleagues to follow his example. As a result, all leaders became the heads of the republics, except for the President of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov.


Latest news

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you